The Five Love Languages Book Review

While most of us have probably heard of the phrase (book title) The Five Love Languages, not everyone may have read the book yet. Actually, Marcus and I have heard of the book for years now, but this year purposed to read it in entirety.

So wish we had read this years ago! It was everything we needed and more. We highly recommend it! This book is a must read for any married couple that truly desires to grow in their love for one another.

The Five Love Languages is authored by Dr. Gary Chapman, a well-known marriage counselor, author, and speaker. He has many more accolades that can be found here. The Five Love Languages is a how-to guide to help married couples understand each other’s love language (and their own), and to learn to show love to their spouse the way the spouse needs it.

The Five Love Languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation – using words to affirm.
  2. Quality Time – giving the other person undivided attention.
  3. Physical Touch – the appropriate touch speaks more deeply than anything.
  4. Acts of Service – actions speaks louder than words.
  5. Receiving Gifts –  feel most loved when he/she receives a gift.

Dr.Gary Chapman provides a free love language quiz to determine which one(s) you are. I would recommend you both take the quiz before reading the book. It will provide you the insight of which category you fall under beforehand, making it easier to make the connection between the description of the love language and your perception.

We have both found that after applying what we learned about each other’s love language, we have been feeling even more loved. As a result of feeling more loved, there is always less tension and more openness. The marriage bond is stronger and the home is happier.

If you’re truly serious about making positive progressive changes in the way you show your spouse love, definitely apply what you read in The Five Love Languages. This has been a game-changer for our marriage and has definitely challenged us to become more selfless in our love towards each other.

We know that your marriage will be blessed after reading and applying what you have learned…so why not start reading it today! Buy more than one copy and send to your friends.

If you’ve already read the book, leave a comment below with your thoughts. Also, leave a comment after you have read the book. We would love to hear your thoughts and journey through this with you both!


Marcus & Carol

five love languages

The Five Love Languages




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s