Your Thoughts Define You

heart

I have often heard people say as a man thinks so is he.  I don’t know about you , but that can mess me up.  I have had some wild thoughts.  If I was everything that I thought, I would be hopeless.  What about the times I was angry with somebody and wanted to SLAP them?  Does that make me a violent man, with no self-control even though I never acted on it?  What about when fear told me I wasn’t good enough but I stepped on its head and showed that with Christ I am more than enough.

So What Is It???
Proverbs 23:7 says “for as he thinks in his heart, so is he…” this is the scripture that is being misquoted.  The key word that is missing is HEART!!!  As he thinks in his heart… this means that he has meditated on this to the point that it is now inside of him and he can now act on it.  This is not a random thought, a thought of anger, or even a tired thought, but one  that has taken root in the inmost parts of the person.


Why is the Heart So Key???
    The heart is key because Jesus said in Matthew 15:19 “for out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies: These are the things which defile a man.”  What you let enter into your heart then come out is what makes you who you are; then action and complete belief are the keys.  It gets deep down into the heart.

Never let another person define you by your thoughts or tell you that as you think so you are, or that a thought defines you.  That is a lie from the pits of Hell.  Christ Jesus is who defines you and once you accept Him as Lord and Savior of your live, you become like Him and He lives in you.  You are a living example of Christ.  Not a person that changes at the whim of every little thought.

Philippians 4:8
Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”

Blessings,

Marcus

Leave a Reply

