How to Fight When Fear has a Grip

Fear is a very strong feeling.  Most people do not realize it is more than a feeling.  Fear is a Spirit.  A Spirit of Fear is used by the devil to keep many people from progressing, advancing, and living up to the call that God has placed upon their lives.  If the devil, Satan, can keep you form acting you, are not a threat to him.  Far too often fear can completely immobilize, paralyze a person, keeping them in their mess or in a rut.

boxing gloves

1.  It’s Time to Fight
 Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places (Ephesians 6:11-12).  If we are fighting a spiritual war, then we need spiritual weapons.  The Helmet of Salvation, Breastplate of Righteousness, the Sword of the Spirit – which is the Word of God,  It is time for us to fight and not let the enemy push us around.  “Look! I have given you the authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to destroy all the enemy’s power, and nothing will ever hurt you (Luke 10:19)”.   WOW… that is a promise from God.

  • Stay fully armed.
  • Be aware of the plans and plots of the devil.
  • Your battle is not physcial, you must cut it off at the root (Spirit).

2.  Face Your Fear
For many years speaking was my greatest fear.  The fear of stuttering kept me from majoring in what I wanted in college.  It kept me from speaking to people in fear of what their reaction would be to me.  It kept me from making presentations.  It kept me from perfecting my speaking abilities.  I finally conquered that fear by looking for opportunities to speak.  By practicing how I speak.  By making presentations and working in sales.  In doing this, I learned how great of a speaker I really am.  Even though I may stutter,  I don’t let that keep me form being who and what God has called me to be.

  • The best way to conquer your fear is to face it.
  • Do the thing that you fear.  Do it over and over and over and over and over until the fear of it is gone.
  • Master your fear don’t let is master you.

3.  Be Aware
We must be aware of what is going on aroumd us.  The enemy would want you to think that you cannot do anything with fear, that fear is something you cannnot control.  NO, the ball is in your court.  We must open our eyes to the plots and plans of the devil.  When you look at this nation you can easily see division, death, and turmoil.  However, I tell you right now you are in a great place to see the Spirit of God move mightily on your behalf.  We must be aware of when and where God is moving.  He desires to Bless you and to Prosper you if you connect and stay connected to Him.

Finally, fear is a Spirit, it is used by the devil to control.  To keep you form reaching your true potential.  But, I speak this to you today.  “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go (Joshua 1:9).”  God is with you, have Faith in Him and watch as He begins to move in your life like never before.  Fear is gone.  God is here.

Blessings,

Marcus

Leave a Reply

