When Your Wait Becomes Your Worry

           

I cannot be the only one who has had to completely trust God for something. You either have a promise, a word from God, or a knowing that you are entering into something better. It is as if you are at a train station knowing you are going on a fabulous vacation, but you do not know what time the train will arrive or which train is the right train . Tell me I am not the only one that has felt like this? So then you wait…and wait…and wait…What do you do when your wait turns into worry? Did I hear God correctly, was I just tired, hungry, or did I eat the wrong thing? I’m sure I heard God but now I have waited for so long will it ever happen? You begin to worry about this wait you are on. So what do you do when the promise you received delays… (you will get married, you will have kids, you will be healed, you will get the  job, etc). What do you do when it does not seem to happen, but you know you have a promise? People begin to quote to you Proverbs 3:5 “trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding and He will direct your path.” Yeah, that’s great. I have been doing that, now what? Then they say, well trust God’s timing, everything happens for a reason. Yeah, that’s great. I trust God, I know that, I have been trusting Him for years, now what? Then some say seek first the Kingdom of God and all things will be added to you, YEAH I KNOW ALL THAT, I DO ALL THAT and yet, I’m still hungry…I’m still waiting.

            Through our times of waiting, Carol and I have learned to exercise our Faith muscle and turn our wait into our work. After about a year and a half into our marriage, we were told we could not have children. BAM!!! Felt like a punch from Mike Tyson to the gut. It wrecked us, but we had a choice to make. We could either let that control us or go to a God that created us…we chose the latter. I had to be strong for Carol even when I did not know what to do, how could I fix that? But I had a promise from God that we would have children. So I turned to my Pastor, had him lay hands on us, anoint us, and pray over us; family and friends were praying for us. Most importantly, we kept doing what we had to do, and believing God. Then came the wait, pregnancy test after pregnancy test let us down and we began to worry. What do you do when the test says no, but God says yes, but the test is all you see? We worked: we begin speaking Scriptures of blessings over our womb, praying and thanking God daily, and our physical part that we had to play. Three children later 🙂 we continue to praise God that is bigger than any report or test!

            Later God said quit your jobs, stop your home purchase, and move. What??? You must be talking to somebody else. I must be hearing things. Excuse me!!! If anybody has spent real time with God, you know you cannot run from Him. So…we moved to Darlington, a place I had no desire to live ever, I mean ever…did I say ever? What I thought would be only about 3 months on our way to Charlotte (God told me that was our destination), turned into 3 years. O_O That was some of the toughest 3 years of my life. What do you do when what you thought you would have already moved on from continues to linger? People said we were crazy. Family of all people begin to talk and question us. It was clear we were not meeting their expectation of us. What do you do when you feel that you are following God but are met with opposition from all areas? As a couple, Carol and I leaned on one another and pressed into God (cleaved). As unpleasant as those 3 years were, it taught us how to say ‘No”, set boundaries, and not rely on or value the opinion of others outside of our marriage. We became a two-headed force (three-stranded cord because Christ is at the center of our marriage). It actually strengthened our marriage. What did we do?? We begin to work in our waiting. I became an exceptional cook by serving my family and Carol’s grandfather, and I coached on a volunteer basis when I could not find employment. I begin to help Carol deal with family, and as a result I learned how to protect my wife. When we finally left, we were much stronger and we even had some family and others share how our faith and how we persevered strengthened their faith.

            So I say to you, when your wait becomes your worry, work that thing LOL! Press into God! Hold on to the promises He has given and work it. You may not ever know that people are watching you and what you do could either strengthen others or cause others to stumble in their faith.

Marcus

 

2 Corinthians 1:20 For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us.

Isaiah 55:11  So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty, Without accomplishing what I desire, And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

One thought on “When Your Wait Becomes Your Worry

Leave a Reply

