New Season…New Title

woman holding pie

Though my oldest child just recently turned 3 years old, and I haven’t worked since before she was born…being a stay at home wife/mom is very new to me. Before this new season of our lives, we both were unemployed and we were living with my grandfather like caretakers. Now that Marcus is working, it is VERY different being at home with the children by myself. Some days are challenging trying to take care of a 3-year-old and 1-year-old, cook, clean, and whatever else needs to be done, but I know that God has me in this position, during this season  for a reason. I know there are countless women who have done this before me, but guess what…I’m me and not them. I have had to come to the realization that may be God has not given me the gift of being a homemade bread maker or maybe I don’t can my own preserves. Maybe I am not as creative in sewing projects and maybe I don’t have the yard yet to plant my own garden and save tons of money on grocery.

But what I have realized once again that I am not defined by what others do, what I do not do, what I do not have etc…my value comes from Christ. During this season, I get to be a sound voice for my children everyday, providing a godly atmosphere and a place of safety (Psalm 91). I get to help my husband with whatever area he needs help in and love doing it (submission). I am able to sit here and blog and hopefully encourage someone else who needs it. Before kids, we both worked and so I contributed to much of the income. I believe it made me feel like if I was working to bring in an income then that would be a contribution. Which I do not agree with it now. Thankfully Marcus has never suggested such falsehood and he’s very thankful that I am home with the children because he knows that they are safe and being taken care of.

At church we are talking about GOd’s will and the theme Scripture is: Colossians 3:17 “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” This really hit me to the core because I was at one point beginning to feel inadequate. It showed me that my “whatever” right now is taking care of the kids and home while Marcus works, and I should do it in the name of the Lord Jesus giving thanks to God through Christ.

What an honor it is to be chosen to be able to conceive and give birth to blessings from God! Life is precious and I am very thankful that I am a mom. I can remember the many nights I cried wondering why I would not be able to conceive, but He still answered my prayers to become a mother. Forever grateful to God and for HIStory to come to pass in my life. This isn’t even my life to complain about, I gave it to Him and I will rejoice in this season!

Carol

Philippians 4:4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!

 

I’m going to stay in my own lane and keep my eyes off everyone else because I now know…life is NOT a competition.

Hebrews 12:1-3 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

One thought on “New Season…New Title

  1. Meg says:

    This sends my heart soaring!!! I am at ease to know this is here your heart is right now. You have all the love and prayers one family could have for another-we consider you truly family of our own and I am SO PROUD of my sister in Christ! Your example for your children and husband glows for so many others to see! I love you!

Leave a Reply

