God is Our Source!

As I read my parenting devotional that I am following on YouVersion for today, I felt the words speaking directly to me. The Scripture was taken from Luke 17:12-19: As he entered a village there, ten lepers stood at a distance, 13 crying out, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!” 14 He looked at them and said, “Go show yourselves to the priests.”b And as they went, they were cleansed of their leprosy. 15 One of them, when he saw that he was healed, came back to Jesus, shouting, “Praise God!” 16 He fell to the ground at Jesus’ feet, thanking him for what he had done. This man was a Samaritan. 17 Jesus asked, “Didn’t I heal ten men? Where are the other nine? 18 Has no one returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?” 19 And Jesus said to the man, “Stand up and go. Your faith has healed you.c There are many things I have not shared which would give God the glory. What is my reason for not sharing…I am not exactly sure, but sometimes I have not shared maybe because of not knowing what the next day would hold. Maybe it was not wanting to look like a crazy person, if I shared something good God did and that later something may happen that would make Him not appear faithful to His promises. I would like to share a blessing that only God could have done…and did do in our lives.

 

Last year sometime, I wrote a post about how God paid our car insurance and car note. Click HERE to read it. Well not only did He do that then, but quite a few times through one particular friend that chose to obey the voice of God herself. There were several times I did not know how we would pay our car bills, but God… May God continue to richly bless her and her family for being such blessings to us. In 2009 we (Marcus and I) felt God was telling us to leave where we ere and “Go.” We were not sure of anything, but it was by faith that we made the move…quitting our jobs while I was still pregnant with our first child and moved back to my hometown. We moved in with my very elderly grandfather and thought that at the most we would only be there for a few months. We still had a very important debt to pay” our only vehicle we bought in May of 2007. Since it was a 5 year loan, we still had until the summer of 2012 to pay it in full. Marc was only employed from April 2012 to July 2012 in a temporary position he was VERY OVER-qualified for. There were so many times I would sit and try to figure out how we would make the payments for the next month being that we had no income coming in. Then I was reminded of the scripture that exclaims we should not worry about what tomorrow holds…for it will take care of itself. 

Matthew 6:25-34 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? 28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30 And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith? 31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of Godd above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. 34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

So then I started turning my worry into believing that God would provide. I should have never doubted that He would anyways. If I believed that He called us to leave our previous livelihood where we did not go without, but we did not have abundance either…then I should have continued to believe that he would always provide for us. He is a just God and a loving God, He would not tell us to leave our jobs for us to fall flat on our faces and lose everything. He even spoke to Marcus and promised him that we would not lose anything that we came there with. So not only were we able to pay off out vehicle (car payments were $362.28) but we kept all the stuff we put into storage (Storage payments were $50/month) and did not have any late payments for either. Also, note that we did not have anything in savings because we had cleaned it out to give to a ministry. Marcus felt led by God to give it to a ministry and then 2-3 weeks late that same ministry and other ministries and organizations gave to Haiti because of the devastation that occurred from the earthquake.

Image

While some family and friends and outsiders might have thought we were poor or needy, God was showing our family that He is our provider, He is our source. Our jobs were our resources…But He is our SOURCE. We go to Him for Life, for everything. In Him we live, move, and breathe. Though I am glad to be out of that season, I am glad to have went through that because my faith in Him is stronger, my relationship with Christ is deeper, and I know who I am in Christ…so it does not matter what others think of me or say about me. My worth is in Christ alone.

 

As for me and my house, we WILL SERVE THE LORD!!!

 

Love,

Carol

Leave a Reply

