Be Expectant!

As I was reading I Samuel chapter 1 early this morning, a part of the Scripture stood out to me like it never had before.

This is the Scripture where Hannah could not conceive and wanted so badly to have children.

Read 1 Samuel 1.

After Hannah prayed to God for a son, the following occurred:

12 As she was praying to the Lord, Eli watched her. 13 Seeing her lips moving but hearing no sound, he thought she had been drinking. 14 “Must you come here drunk?” he demanded. “Throw away your wine!”

15 “Oh no, sir!” she replied. “I haven’t been drinking wine or anything stronger. But I am very discouraged, and I was pouring out my heart to the Lord. 16 Don’t think I am a wicked woman! For I have been praying out of great anguish and sorrow.”

17 “In that case,” Eli said, “go in peace! May the God of Israel grant the request you have asked of him.”

18 “Oh, thank you, sir!” she exclaimed. Then she went back and began to eat again, and she was no longer sad.

I noticed that after Eli, the priest, told her to go in peace and may God answer her prayer, her countenance immediately changed.  She was no longer sad and she then ate her portion of food. She blieved that God would answer her and was expectanct. She was not given a date as to when He would answer her prayer but she still expected Him to. Instead of praying and then worrying (which would just cancel out her prayer anyways) she chose to believe that she would one day have a child.

19 The entire family got up early the next morning and went to worship the Lord once more. Then they returned home to Ramah. When Elkanah slept with Hannah, the Lord remembered her plea, 20 and in due time she gave birth to a son. She named him Samuel, for she said, “I asked the Lord for him.”

21 The next year Elkanah and his family went on their annual trip to offer a sacrifice to the Lord. 22 But Hannah did not go. She told her husband, “Wait until the boy is weaned. Then I will take him to the Tabernacle and leave him there with theLord permanently.”

23 “Whatever you think is best,” Elkanah agreed. “Stay here for now, and may the Lord help you keep your promise.” So she stayed home and nursed the boy until he was weaned.

24 When the child was weaned, Hannah took him to the Tabernacle in Shiloh. They brought along a three-year-old bull for the sacrifice and a basket of flour and some wine. 25 After sacrificing the bull, they brought the boy to Eli. 26 “Sir, do you remember me?” Hannah asked. “I am the woman who stood here several years ago praying to the Lord. 27 I asked the Lordto give me this boy, and he has granted my request. 28 Now I am giving him to the Lord, and he will belong to the Lord his whole life.” And they worshiped the Lord there.

Verse 20 says that in due time she gave birth to a son. This part really stood out to me!  God’s due time or appointed time can seem like a really long time for us humans. Do you remember Abraham and Sarah believing that they would one day have a child, and she did not conceive until an old age. But no matter how old they were, it was the due time for her to conceive.

After believing God for such a long time and not knowing exactly when she would conceive, Hannah chose to give her child back to God. I viewed that as serving God with all her heart, mind, and soul. How many of us would do the same thing? I questioned myself…would I really be able to give God back the very thing I had been praying for so long? Many times the rough seasons in our lives seems like they will never end or either we try to get out of it ourselves without seeking God.  We have to stop putting an expiration date on something that God has not…going into your Promised Land is in His timing.  When you pray to God be expectant that He will answer, but DO NOT put Him on a deadline. Don’t forget…He is God and you’re not.  Pray…Expect…Don’t Give Up!

Blessings,

Carol

Leave a Reply

