LESSONS FROM ADAM & EVE: The Role of A Husband

The Role of a Husband

Recently I felt a desire to read through the bible studying relationships.  God has shown me the story of Adam & Eve from the role of a husband.  Man was the only thing that God created that resembled Himself (Genesis 1:27).  Man was to be the ruler, the god of this Earth under God Himself;  therefore, a man must treat his wife as God would, as God designed.

God instructed Adam (Man) of his role and duties (Genesis 2:15-17).  Adam was the protector and keeper of the Garden and everything in it.  I would say that it was his role to grow the Garden, to help it expand past its original limits and to keep out all intruders that would try to defile the Garden.  So my role as a husband is to help my wife grow to protect her from all that would try to defile her beauty.

After God instructed Adam, He gave him his assignment, which was to protect and grow all within the Garden, his Garden.  He saw that being alone was not good for man and He provided him with a help meet, a helper that was suitable to man intellectually, morally, and physically; his equal.  Eve was to be protected by Adam, nurtured by him, and Loved by him.  Never to be dominated or trampled upon, but loved and nurtured like a delicate flower, a rose.  It was never Adam’s assignment to be fruitful, multiply, and replenish the Earth.  Instead, that assignment was for the husband and wife to do together, her supporting him as he expands the blessing of God to the rest of the world.  There is no way that Adam could multiply by himself, God blessed them (Genesis  1:28).

When I married, I cleaved to my wife.  We became one flesh and I took the role of her protector, nurturer, her gardener.  It is truly a blessing for a man to have a wife that is willing to support him, to let him learn from his mistakes, and yes fall sometimes even if she sees it coming, it only makes us stronger.  When my wife is there to pick me up after a fall it lets me know that we can conquer the world and no matter what she has my back.

The biggest thing God taught me about my role as a husband was through the failure of Adam.  So many times people blame Eve for the fall in the Garden but instead let’s look at what Adam did or perhaps did not do.  As I read chapter 3 I saw that Adam was with Eve while she was being tempted by the serpent in verse 6.  The serpent made suggestions to the woman causing her to doubt what God had said.  Adam stood there and watched his wife be deceived and tricked by the enemy.  As the protector, he should have stepped in and never let the conversation go on.  I say that his response should have been, “If you have something to say your gonna have to deal with me.”  He should have protected his rose, instead he watched while she was taken advantage of and then he took part in the deception by eating the forbidden fruit with her.

My wife must feel that she can trust me and that I will always stand up in her defense.  Adam refused to do this, and that single act can ruin a marriage.  In verses 11-13 God confronts Adam not Eve on the disobedience of his (Adam’s) family.  Adam’s first response was to blame his wife and God because God gave him the woman.  After that, how would Eve ever feel protected by her husband?  A wife would begin to take that role of protector, which is not God’s design.

I learned from this time with God that I must grow, nurture, and Love all that He was given me.  I must protect my wife and step in when she is being attacked or deceived in anyway.  In the end God will come to me the husband and I will have to answer to Him on how I have led my wife and family.  Each man must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband (Ephesians 5:33).  For husbands, this means love your wives, just as Christ loved the church. He gave up his life for her  to make her holy and clean, washed by the cleansing of God’s word (Ephesians 5:25-26).

Blessings, Marcus
Prayer:  Lord teach me to be strong at all times and to be the man, husband, father, you have called me to be.  To love my wife as you love the Church, in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a Reply

