Hearing from God

Do you ever find it difficult to hear from God? Maybe you feel like its more of a task than just second nature. Well, for me in the past I seemed to make it more of a task, as if it was difficult to hear from God. But if you are a Christian, then you should have a relationship with Him. And how can you have a relationship with God, if the conversation is always one-sided? Think about it like this…you have a friend, and all he/she does is talk to you and ask you questions, but never listens to what you have to say because they are always talking…would you consider that a relationship? I would certainly not!

Lately I have been challenging myself to not put God on a schedule, but to seek Him early..the first thing I do when I get up. Of course I don’t always find it easy to do because my 1 yr old will sometimes get up at the same time. I felt like sharing this post because I know there are so many of us who want to hear clearly from God regarding every area of our lives.  So I am going to sort of journal my experiences of seeking Him and awaiting His answer.

This morning I had a few minutes alone with God before my daughter awoke and so I decided to inquire of Him what I should read from the Bible. I felt like he led me to read John 3. I won’t go into much detail right now about John 3, but it discusses that if you believe that Jesus Christ is the son of God and that He was sent to earth so that we could have eternal life then you understand heavenly things, and you are born again. Born again is to be born of the Spirit. Even though I am born again, this Scripture still spoke volumes to me. Near the end of the chapter John the Baptist’s disciples came to John and were seemingly upset at the fact that Jesus, the man whom John the Baptist identified as the Messiah, had more people coming to him to get baptized than to John.

And so John replied, “No one can receive anything unless God gives it from heaven. You yourselves know how plainly I told you, ‘I am not the Messiah. I am only here to prepare the way for him.’ It is the bridegroom who marries the bride, and the best man is simply glad to stand with him and hear his vows. Therefore, I am filled with joy at his success. He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.He has come from above and is greater than anyone else. We are of the earth, and we speak of earthly things, but he has come from heaven and is greater than anyone else. He testifies about what he has seen and heard, but how few believe what he tells them! Anyone who accepts his testimony can affirm that God is true. For he is sent by God. He speaks God’s words, for God gives him the Spirit without limit. The Father loves his Son and has put everything into his hands. And anyone who believes in God’s Son has eternal life. Anyone who doesn’t obey the Son will never experience eternal life but remains under God’s angry judgment.” John 3:27-36

Sometimes we as Christians get so caught up in ourselves that we think its all about us.  Instead of keeping God at the head of our life/ministry, we begin to exalt ourselves above Him (PRIDE). It is Jesus that people should see in us. I choose to live a life that is humble before God, not exalting myself because there is nothing that I can do without Him. And because there is nothing I can do without Him, I must seek Him daily, read His Word, renew my mind. I cannot just fit Him into my schedule…I have to schedule my day around Him. I must abide in His presence so I can hear what it is I need to do or need not do for that day.

One of my goals for 2012 and beyond…Always put God first and obey what He tells me to do regardless of what people may think.

God bless!

Carol

2 thoughts on “Hearing from God

Leave a Reply

